new mexico

August 8, 2007 at 3:41 am (Uncategorized)

I’m having trouble figuring out this site…I thought I had posted this already but it shows it as a draft.  I wrote it last week but I’ll try posting again. I’ll get the hang of this place after I’m here more. 🙂

Anyway…we had a great time in New Mexico.  There pics on reezle and myspace if ya wanna take a peek. 🙂

Well, here it is….my last night of vacation. 😦 It’s been so much fun road tripping with my dad again. I’m in the odd position of being mother and daughter on this trip. I’m glad my son is getting to experience road tripping with my parents too. Mom is happy that I’m along…cuz I’ll play with dad. She gets all “pretend” mad and scolds me for encouraging him as we pull over to watch hawks or explore that cave we saw from the side of the road or whatever else we feel like doing at the time. He indulges my whims as well…it’s just a great way to vacation and see things “off the beaten path”. We went down this one dirt road…he had to put it in 4 wheel drive to get through and we bounced along for a little while before dead ending into the most beautiful isolated lake.  

WOW!!!! We did so much…I don’t think I can write about all of it.  I’ll post some pictures later.  

We stayed two nights on top of a mountain in Cloudcroft New Mexico. I LOVED being in the middle of the forest. It was cold…okay, not cold cold but way better than Houston. We got into the hot tub every night and then dried off next to the fire pit. All while looking up at the most beautiful star filled clear sky. I didn’t have cell phone reception for two days and ya know what? It wasn’t all that bad. I wouldn’t like it like that forever but a couple of days…not bad. Work wasn’t calling me all of the time or at least they weren’t getting through. I am glad that my very very sweet friend let me borrow his laptop though. 😉

We spent a day in Roswell…checking out the aliens. 😉 

We went to White Sands and rolled down the large dunes. I was about the same age as my son is now when I first went sliding down the mountains of sand on a piece of cardboard. I’ll put up some pics of that too. It’s the middle of the desert but it looks like snow….the sand is that white. 

We went to Carlsbad Caverns…I don’t know if I’m going to put any pictures of that up or not. There is no possible way to show the magnitude and beauty of it in just a few small pictures. We watched the bats fly out at dusk. I’ve seen the bats come out from under bridges both in Houston and Austin but seeing them come out from the caverns was soooooo amazing. 

Ohhhhhh….I finally found real ghost towns. Two of them so far. One on purpose…I found it online and we just stumbled upon another one. My son is okay with real ghosts but he was so creeped out by the ghost towns that he stayed in the car with mom while dad and I explored. It was kinda creepy…but I like creepy. A storm rolled in so we had to cut it shorter than we wanted to but it was great. Those of you who know me well enough know that I’ve always wanted to find a real ghost town…and I did. YAY!

It’s been A LOT of driving. We just made it back into Texas tonight and so begins the loooonnnggg drive home tomorrow morning. yick…I don’t wanna. It takes FOREVER to get across this state. 
 
New Mexico is so beautiful. Coming back into Texas from there is depressing. I love the mountains…I could have stayed there forever. The climate was perfect and the view was spectacular. The desert is fun to explore but to hot and flat for me to want to live in or near it. We found lots of neat lil things…all kinds of lizards and centipedes *thhhiiissss* long. Not everything is bigger in Texas…the bugs are smaller. 🙂 

We watched two hawks just hanging out in a tree watching their buddy eat something…I don’t wanna know what it was.  

That’s all for now…time to get some sleep. I hope everyone is having a good weekend. 🙂 

1 Comment

  1. blulady said,

    Well shoot, I’ve missed your latest entries here!!

    It sounds like you had a great trip! We went to Carlsbad Caverns years ago. I love caves! Ghost towns are pretty cool too!

    Yeah, posting takes some getting used to. If you click save it saves as a draft, you have to click on publish first.

Leave a Reply

